Kelpie

We're home! After a night in Falkirk Premier Inn which is in a converted canal warehouse and next to the canal so an interesting place, we stopped in at two places I have wanted to visit for some time. The Kelpies lived up to my expectations and, thankfully, we were so early that they were tourist free (apart from us of course!) so I was able to blip them from every angle. If you would like to see some of those angles see here!

After securing my fridge magnet and postcards we moved on to the Falkirk Wheel. Tony does all the reading of the boards at these things and soaking up the science, whilst I prefer to look and it really was pretty amazing to watch the wheel in action. If you like the engineering bit, please google the Wheel as life is too short for me to describe it here. Suffice to say I was amazed at how quiet it was in motion (I was worried about the people who lived nearby but the Lochs & Glens coach parties made more noise than the machine). I did pick up two interesting facts: It uses the same amount of energy as two boiling kettles for one half turn and it can take loads as heavy as 100 elephants.

Please do look at the Kelpie in large!

I've also uploaded my Braemar blips of the bits between orienteering last week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.