pump up the volume

Loud or quiet?

High or low?

We've all got preferences for volume. Not just audible levels of sound, but the way that sound is presented.

In context I'm all for volume, but sometimes (in fact more often than not) I'm more interested on clarity. And tonality.

Oddly though, I find that when writing it's easy to confuse volume with tone. Using lots of contractions. Or short sentences. When, just maybe, something longer and more thoughtful it required. Perhaps less conversational and more *professional*. whatever that means.

But I'm much more comfortable writing how I speak (or at least think I'd like to speak).

But using volume is about knowing when to ratchet up the style and when to keep it nice. And. Tight. Volume is linked to tone, but it's about how much, not so much about what tone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.