Swaledale Diary

By swaledale

Bird on a post

This is a very obliging red grouse looking over the grouse moors of Whitaside, Swaledale. I say obliging because I intially photographed it from quite far away and then as it didn't seem to be bothered about me driving towards it - in the end I just wound down the car window and blipped it from about 2 metres away. I did turn off the radio but otherwise it was quite happy on its post.

This is the week for birds on posts - yesterday I saw a short eared owl, or moor owl as they are known locally. It was on a post too (a sign that said 'MOD keep out') as I was driving across another moor . It would have made for a great shot but it flew off before I could blip it. A good one for the list as we haven't seen one in Swaledale for about 4 years.

Nice day today Spring definitely in the air

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.