While on my runs

By waipushrink

A promise

I am posting early this afternoon for a number of reasons. First, my involvement in this afternoon's meeting ended a bit earlier than expected, so I am home sooner. Second, the promise of rain from the sunrise this morning has eventuated; we all need water to live, and therefore (showing the effects of my childhood on a farm) rain is welcome. In this weather, I will not get any other pictures unless I set one up.

Third, and most importantly, my run this morning was designed to get a picture like this one. Yesterday I chose not to put up one of a number of pictures I had taken of the moon and Venus, and although pleased with my choice I did like the conjunction, and thought I could get it again if I went to the top of Maungawhau, the highest natural point in Auckland (also called Tamaki Makarau). Of course, with the moon's orbit not being 24 hours, today the moon was below Venus, whereas yesterday it was above. And the picture is from a different place to any of the shots taken yesterday.

When I reached the road to access the road winding around Maungawhau leading to the summit, the gate was still locked shut, preventing cars from entering. Just walkers (some with dogs), runners, and a pack of lunatic cyclists circling around; up and down, up and down, around and around. Some at breakneck speed, which was rather scary to those of us on foot.

Not wishing to be prolix, this picture shows humans and nature, the transition from night (the dark city and its lights) through the sunrise to the day above. The moon and Venus are also in transition; by the time I got home they were barely visible. The activity of people on Maungawhau at this early time was impressive.

One of my first blips was of the trig station, seen here in the foreground. The trig station is a gathering place and place to rest for many of the walkers, and a group of women (full of words and good cheer) arrived just as I was leaving.

A promise indeed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.