While on my runs

By waipushrink

The crossing

Overcast and humid morning, in stark contrast to yesterday's crisp and clear morning. Went looking for vegetable gardens; nary a one to be seen from the footpaths.

Not far from where we stay a pedestrian crossing controlled by lights allows people from one side to the other over one of Auckland's busiest city streets. This is the box that controls the lights. Nø 6 in my series of painted boxes (#4 in the traffic signal control boxes). The last one was just a few days ago, and I placed a link there which interested viewers can follow to the rest of the series.

The painting might be based on the Otira Bridge on the west of the Southern Alps. It is more likely complete fantasy, but it does recognise the rushing danger of the road. So here is where I cross with Mr H when I collect him from school on Mondays (my turn that day), and with Young L, who likes to walk all the way to this crossing rather than go the other way to the next one that way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.