horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Everything Is Going To Be Alright

I was looking for pessimistic shots today (I'll explain shortly) but a lunchtime wander past the Modern Art Gallery, and there it was... Everything Is Going To Be Alright.

Well it better bloody well be.

You see before going to my Taiko Drumming class last night I gave the recruitment agent a call about prospective new job. Well the indications on Friday had been VERY good, but I'd not heard anything, so the time had come. And, a day short of it being 4 weeks since my first interview, the prospective new employer got a 'last minute CV'. Seriously, 4 weeks, two interviews, a process almost completed, how 'last minute' can you be?

Anyway, the agent didn't know who the candidate was, but they have relevant sector experience (the one tiny snagging issue they had with my process), but they're much more junior, however because of the relevant experience they felt they had to speak to this new candidate. You know what it sounds like? Some boss somewhere has a nephew who is looking for a new job... The agents, knowing the process had been started and almost completed, wouldn't have sent in any new CVs anyway.

Anyway, latest candidate is being spoken to on Thursday. If it follows my process the first interview is to confirm that personalities will fit into the team (as well as some background knowledge). The second interview is for experience, so if I haven't heard on Friday then it's likely the candidate is going forward to meet the heid honcho. This will make it clear to him that the first interviewers believe they'll be able to work with the candidate, and so it's down to the experience. And it was the heid honcho that had the concerns about my sector experience in the first place.

Long story short, my chances which, last Friday, stood at about 99% certain of getting an offer have plummeted. I reckon probably less than 50% now. I seem peculiarly susceptible to this. The last couple of interviews I've gone for I've had some stunningly good feedback - seriously, I interview well because I don't indulge in bullshit or management speak. I'm honest. I'm me. It goes down well. But both have then turned round and said the reason I'm not being offered the job is because I'm too junior. Given all experience is on the CV it makes it frustrating you were ever allowed to get your hopes up - the most recent said if I was to go back in 4-5 years then you never know; the one before that they were looking for partner level experience, something I was about 10 years off at the time.

Everything Is Going To Be Alright.

I'm sure that really is the case, but I wish people would stop trying to kick me in the teeth en route there. Because for one thing it leaves me feeling absolutely rotten, and not really good company. Anyway, I took it out on the drums last night, and tonight alcohol will be the answer at the Sheep Heid pub quiz, and on friday we head to Amsterdam for a long weekend. Which should be good. As long as Mel's current lurgy doesn't get any worse.

Never rains eh?

p.s. On the most recent statistics thingy for members it would appear I mention 'hate' something like 406% more than the average blipper. That's slightly concerning. But then I HAVE commented on the Daily Wail quite a lot in the past...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.