Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Adding a fascia

Today I finally could cut a fascia for the front of the layout. I used 1/8" masonite - not my favorite material as it makes tons of dust when cutting and the edge can chip. I had to wait to do this step as I wanted to cut the fascia to match the stream outline so it would show better and look like it extended to the right. And the hill in the rear has a drainage ditch that needed to match the fascia as well.

Not real exciting but glad it is over. Now I can prime it and the paint it to match the walls in the layout loft. Final step will be to put my storage boxes underneath from the loft out of sight when you come up the stairs (to the right in this photo). I am tired (as is my wife I think) of looking at boxes full of trains.

One fix I need to do is at the top by the hill. The styrofoam and base are not perfectly aligned so there is a gap between the fascia and the styrofoam. No problem - I will cut in a small piece of wood and glue it to the styrofoam, and then once the glue is set screw the fascia tight against the styrofoam/ Only disadvantage with styrofoam is that you can't screw into it - but a small piece of wood will work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.