Building Sn3 and N Worlds

By Stationmaster

Making a stream bed

Today I got after it. Mixed up some Sculptamold and laid it on top of the styrofoam under the bridges. Way easier before you install the bridges! Don't ask me how I know. I would have liked to tint the sculptamold with some earth color, but have not gotten my paint as yet. So it will have to be light grey for awhile. Tinting keeps the ugly non-real grey color from peeking through is there is a chip in the surface.

Ended up with plenty of material so went ahead and did the two ditches on either side of the bridges. Also around the culverts in the back.

Next step is to paint the small bridge piers with concrete color and weather them, and to restain the larger plaster supports. Once this is dry and I get the paint to match my soil sample, I can paint the base. Then add rocks and debris. Have not decided how much vegetation to add as yet. But everything has to go in before I pour the water. Planning on not too much water - will use a two-part resin that drys clear. The concept here is that these bridges are crossing a drainage ditch that feeds a larger stream off the layout in the world to the right.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.