creative lenna

By creativelenna

a little dinosaur

I was taking photos of the many squirrels in our yard who tease our dogs when I heard a rustling in the leaves. Who was there but this little fellow! I took a number of photos, trying not to move too much and scare him. Now that the weather has warmed here in Florida (we do have winter here!!) the anoles are coming out again. I do not know a lot about them so I looked them on Wikipedia.

Anoles are small and common lizards that can be found throughout the southeastern United States, the Caribbean, and various other regions of the Western world. A large majority of them sport a green coloration, including the only species native to North America, the aptly named Green anole, although the green anole can change its color based on its mood and surroundings. Anoles are an exorbitantly diverse and plentiful group of lizards. There are currently about 372 known species . . . . .

I was delighted when while photographing him, the anole puffed it's colorful throat (dewlap)- like I have seen before. Often when an intruder is in the area, the anole raises its spine, fans its dewlap, and does "push-ups" accompanied by intermittent ultrasonic hisses.

I know my friend Frieda in Scotland wanted to know more about these lizards that she saw on our friend Susan's blip -so here you are!!! I am quite pleased with this photo taken with my little Olympus S-9000. what fun!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.