The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Manfred

It's coming up to the time when Manfred is due for his annual MOT test, and last year he unexpectedly needed a fair amount of welding. It was the first time he had needed any and I rather rashly gave the go-ahead before I realized that the cost of the work was approximately double the trade-in value of the car. That worked out for the best as I have had a year of trouble-free motoring and the car has transported me, my tripod and cameras to many a blip venue, among other things.

Before putting it through another MOT, though, I thought it best to have the chassis checked out for corrosion and one expert who gave it a preliminanary once over last week had given it a rather gloomy prognosis. I tried to book it in for a more thorough inspection on the Porte Marsh Estate in Calne but it took four trips over there when they were unable to put it on the ramps for various stupid reasons before it finally made its ascent into the air at lunchtime. I took this blip of a view of the car I don't normally enjoy in celebration. I realize this is more of a journal photograph than anything more artistic.

They dismissed the concerns of the previous evaluation, saying the signs of wear were superficial, and so an appointment for its MOT, which will make it legal for a further year if it passes, has been made for next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.