must try harder

By halfcj

Golden Boy

Today was a bit of a nothing kinda day. B went to Nottingham with Joe on the University run, having already done the Southampton trip. I am off to Liverpool on Saturday with him to check things out. Looking forward to my buffet lunch!

Things are looking hopeful for him as it appears not that many want to do Zoology. So we're hoping as long as he get the grades, he'll be able to choose. He liked Nottingham, as did B. I cooked them a biryani for their return which was about the height of my day, as the rest was spent pretty much alone with my computer, catching up, doing my regular monthly work for one of my clients and preparing the creative recommendations for another, although that's not done yet.

I got to mid afternoon and decided to take a break and prepare the veg for the biryani so I didn't have a rush early evening when they were due back. I took some shots of the sweet peppers, the carrots and onions, garlic (quite pleased with some of those, less pleased with the odour they leave on your hands no matter what - anyone actually got a remedy that works for removing that odour, like, the same day?)

Of course, sod's law would have it that whilst taking that break, the phone rings. Hadn't rung all morning! I knew most everyone was either away, on business trips, or tied up for today. Turned out to be a courtesy call, but going back into my office and sitting with my feet up on the desk leaning back on the phone, I noticed the light was amazing. The sun had come out, made it's way to the front of the house and was now streaming through the blinds. It turned the whole study a golden colour. I cut short the phone and set up. Of course, no-one around to help out, so I had to step in! - hence uncomfortable SP no. 2.

You'll probably realise that I like my portraits to be a little illustrative (being an old school (old) art student!, so yes I do post production and gods know I need it! A little too much sun damage over the years has left it's mark and I own up to a blemish that needed removing on my left cheek. My daughter names all such visitors she has 'Enrique' and generally she sends them packing as quickly as they arrive, but I never actually got around to christening any of mine over the years. Generation thing maybe?)

Anyhow, importantly, what you should know is that I did very little in terms of tonal correction as I wanted to show how the light had given the study a golden glow. OK, I'm not quite David Beckham, but then I hear tell he's an aweful Lover!! ;)

PS - What I'd also like you to know is the t-shirt is actually new, and although looks dirty, it's actually the 'grunge' effect of the material....before anyone is appalled with my hygiene!

PPS - Missed the opportunity to meet fellow blipper jkj10 last night. Shame.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.