Blow the Wind Southerly

It was blowing very hard when I walked Miss Annie this morning. A couple of the gusts rocked me back on my heels, and Annie didn't seem to be having a good time, so I cut it short and headed for the Y to play pickleball. When I got to Holly Street just after 10 o'clock the traffic lights were out, and I wasn't surprised to find the Y in darkness.

There were people with flashlights stationed on the stairs, just like the ushers who used to be in movie theaters. The gym where we play is on the top floor and the high windows along one wall provided just enough natural light to play, but it was uneven, and favored the players with their backs to the windows. It was better than not playing.

On the way home I had to take a little detour around this fallen tree -- one of many in the Puget Sound region. The power had also gone off at home and didn't come back on until around 4 or 5 o'clock -- I was asleep at the time.

After the winds came the deluge. Unbeknownst to me, the tarp which had protected my workbench and storage unit for four months had been blown off -- I didn't secure it very well after removing the stored lumber. The bench and storage unit were soaked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.