Inky Leaves

By inkyleaves

Sally after 14 hours...

Great... so it's that time in the process when I wished I worked a little harder and faster, because Sally is starting to wilt. The fridge has kept her going surprisingly long, so I am working in haste to get as many washes in place before she gives her leaves up to the ether.

I have been rather ill this week with some sort of tummy upset which put me out of action a bit. I think I have discovered that I am allergic to oysters, so it wasn't all in vain. I like making discoveries about myself.

If I stare at her long enough, she'll enter a memory bank of sorts, which is what I often work from, along with photographs in the end. But I like to work from the fresh material for at least a couple of weeks at the start so I can soak up the essence of her being. I have to admit, I am quite shocked at how sensual this subject is. The way the leaves curl at the edges is quite remarkable and I am finding it rather off putting!

With some leaves really giving up the ghost, I am resorting to propping her up with matches, it seems to be working.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.