Inky Leaves

By inkyleaves

Sally the Savoy

Well, after much thought and planning the vegetable study has begun! So for the next few weeks I will be recording the 'growth' of Sally as she is immortalised on paper, rather like I did with the grapes.

Sally's leathery leaves do surprisingly well under a lamp, so I'm rather pleased with my choice of vegetable. They aren't wilting (yet). I choose a savoy because I wanted the challenge. Painting it requires a completely different technique to the grapes. The grapes were mostly about the light and the colour, and created using wet on wet technique (washes). This cabbage is all about the texture and shadows and is currently being done using a dry brush. It's a bit like painting by numbers, only I am doing the drawing as well as the painting in!

Please keep an eye on my blip to watch Sally's development.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.