Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

World Book Day

World Book Day is rather a nice idea...a day dedicated to books. Mind you, I couldn't imagine a day *not* dedicated to books. I'm always amazed whenever I go into a home which lacks them. Both my boys love books. Henry often has his nose in one and Noah loves to 'read' to me. He sits, holding his book, most often Dear Zoo, often upside down, and reads seriously with great expression, using all the signs for the various animals. Then, when he's finished, he closes the book solemnly and gives himself a round of applause. I think I've said before that neither of my children *do* false modesty!

This evening H was reading a book to Noah (Yertle the Turtle and other Stories, by Dr. Seuss) so I tried a couple of different shots of them reading together, but in the end I liked this one...a close-up of H's eyes where you can see the reflection of the book in his catchlights. It makes me smile to hear H doing all the same voices for the characters that I used to do when I read those same stories to him. The Cat in the Hat has an American accent and the fish of the same story sounds like John Prescott (don't ask why...it just seemed 'right' when I read them!)

He's been taking part in a sponsored read-a-thon over the past couple of weeks. He selected five books and has gradually worked his way through them. The Learn to Speak Dragonese book I blipped him reading last week was the first and Horrid Henry Meets the Queen, is the last on his list and the one he's currently reading, but he's already lined up another of Jeremy Strong's 'Viking' books for afterwards. I hope his love of reading lasts a lifetime :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.