Natures arches

Nature has taken away many arches from Christchurch in the architectural sense. But nature provides us with its own beautiful arches too, be they trees or rock.

I felt a strange mix of anger and compassion when I took this. I'd taken Mum to do a few things and we crossed the road to look at the beach. We were accosted by a woman I can only assume is unwell. Her view of punishment visited on Christchurch is not one I share. I had to walk away.

On a lighter note my friends and neighbours are joking about my older style TV and aging bike. The former continues to refuse to topple over and since I don't think it's important enough to update to a flat screen until it dies, it will continue exist (I've had plenty of joking offers to change all that ;-)

I dropped my bike off at the local bike shop after work nearly 2 weeks ago. The shop collapsed but my little bike man salvaged his clients bikes including mine. It's an older mountain bike I converted to a commuter and it too refuses to die. A collapsed wall has made some 'adjustments' to it and a friend has collected it and taken it to another shop still operating.

I'm going to need it as my main form of transport as many roads are closed and damaged, so this is good news. What needs immediate work will be completed by later next week and once my little bike man is able to work out of his garage at home, I'll take it back to get the work done he intended doing the afternoon of the earthquake. I'll keep supporting him and local businesses that battle on.

Plenty done this morning to help an elderly neighbour of my parents with her computer. She in turn will help someone else and that's the way the world should work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.