In the gutter

I wasn't quite in the gutter but it was close ;-)

Yesterday I noticed a few leaves collecting in the gutters by my local park. I guess the Oak trees are starting to release their leaves, but I'm hoping it's just a sign of a late summer and not a lot of rain.

Might just be wishful thinking but I'm an optimist :-)

I've taken a quick break to eat dinner and blip. Tomorrow morning we leave for Okarito. It will take a relaxed 7 hours to get there with plenty of breaks to take photos on the way.

My friends marry on Friday. Okarito is small. You can walk one end to the other in 10 mins. We meet and start with photos around midday, then we're helicoptered into our destination for the ceremony. Yep, it's back of beyond. After the ceremony, photos, bubbles and nibbles, it's a 1.5 - 2 hour hike back to Okarito, a quick change and then it's drinks and dinner.

Wedding outfits. They're formal for the wedding party but the rest of us are smart casual/tidy hiking with just a change of shoes for the tramp back. Stilettos would get stuck between rocks or sink into mud ;-) It's a snappy fine merino t-shirt and dressy shorts for me with flat sandals and light hiking shoes for the trip out. I'll manage a colourful skirt, top and shoes for the evening.

On Saturday all 20 of us spend the day together - a trip to Franz Josef Glacier and exploring the Okarito Lagoon. Hopefully we'll have a trip into the bush in the dark to spot a kiwi (the flightless feathered variety ;-)

Sunday may see time for an early kayak on the lagoon and a spot of White Heron watching. The long trip home starts late morning.

Better go and continue my preparation. I'll see you in a few days.

I'm hugely excited, it's going to be great.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.