Another View of Mt Torlesse

FirehorseMia and I went to a sawmill and loaded the hatchback with timber offcuts. It was a good time to go, after three days of warm winds and before the weekend when people usually go to get their wood. It is now stacked in my woodshed, a whole winter's worth of kindling.

It was hot work in the brilliant sunshine and the warm and gusty, dusty nor'wester. It must have been horrible in Christchurch.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

The foothills' echo of the mountain shapes caught my eye, but this view of Mount Torlesse, taken from the south, is rather different from the one I'm accustomed to. In my home view the Back Peak is tucked in behind Otarama, but in this view they are separated by a broad valley that I can't see from my garden. This also shows that Rubicon stands forward of the other two.

Allowing that the landscape is compressed by foreshortening it is typical of inland Canterbury. You need to look at it in large to see the four cabbage trees along the top of the foothills. Everything else is introduced.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.