The Daily Bun

By pennybun

50 up - Gold!!!

For a while, in the dark days of feral pigeons I thought today would never come. The weather and light haven't always been kind. I decided to go to RSPB Old Moor, because it seemed the safest way of getting a blip photo. I had in mind a bullfinch, which are always photogenic, and always on the feeders. Well, first of all, there was a major diversion on my route, which meant I ended up driving round and round. Finally got there to find that all the feeders had been taken down because of an outbreak of that horrible disease. Deep breaths, keep calm, don't panic. Other birds around the place. Wren - blipped; waxwing - blipped; Great Crested Grebe - blipped ... and so it continued. I went into one of the hides and everyone's attention was focussed on a small troupe of long-tailed tits (blipped). But wait... riding shotgun with them, a GOLDCREST - our smallest, and probably most fidgety bird. I think people in the hide will remember the mad woman snapping frantically. Of the half dozen or so shots a fired off, this was the only one which was not a blur. Gold - seemed appropriate!

When I set myself this challenge 50 days ago, I never imagined what an adventure it was going to be. People have been very kind and complimentary, even when I posted a rubbish shot in the name of the challenge. Some have said I'm helping them learn about birds - well the fact is we've been learning together. Especially supportive have been Horns of Wilmington's Cow (Anth) and Steel City Wildlife (Pete), so special thanks to them. Before this starts to sound like an Oscar acceptance speech, I need to address the issue of what's next for The Daily Bun. Well, I'm going to keep blipping. It's too good a way to record my life. There will be birds, lots of them, but not every day and not always a new one. There are lots left to give centre stage to - I've got to 50 without a single gull and very few ducks. I'll number "new birds" from 51 so help me keep track. But as spring and summer unfold, there will be butterflies, dragons and damsels, maybe a mammal or two, and don't be surprised if there are fungi. There may even be landscapes and occasional whimsy.
Just off to crack open the bubbly :-D

PS I should also say a big thank you to Phil's Photos, who put me onto Blipfoto in the first place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.