Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Fairy lights....

What a difference a day makes! The air temperature's wasnot very different from yesterday, but the wind dropped and the sun came out, making it feel positively balmy. I realise how much I've been missing the sun - it felt so wonderful to walk along the river, and bask in its warmth.

On my stroll I noticed the sun shining through these capsules of capillary thread-moss Bryum capillare , lighting them up like tiny street-lamps for fairies. I was entranced and took a series of shots, but this was my favourite.
Later in my walk I came across a bush of sweet-scented Mahonia absolutely buzzing with honey-bees. Another sign of spring!

Apart from my walk it's been a fairly domestic sort of day - digging part of the vegetable patch and sorting out the junk room that was previously my Mum's bedroom. My Mum was an inveterate hoarder, and although I did some sorting after she died, it was intially too difficult and emotional. After three and a half years it's easier, though I still have a pile of papers to go through, some of which are historically interesting, such as a letter from my grandfather describing a first hand view of the Blitz in East London. But on the bright side it was warm enough to eat lunch in the garden!

In the late afternoon I took Alex to the doctor, which involved a very long and tedious wait. It seems that he really shouldn't have gone to Orton Pit yesterday morning. He was complaining of a sore throat first thing but decided he felt up to a spot of conservation work - today he has a high temperature and has been diagnosed with severe tonsillitis. So it looks like I'm on nursing duty this weekend. Luckily we didn't have any special plans!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.