Appreciation

By Appreciation

Crumbling

This wonderful wall is part of a very small, very old lighthouse, that sits on the pier at Queensferry. You wouldn't know it was there, it's tucked in behind the RNLI shop hidden from view. It has a gorgeous glass and strutt roof, which seems intact and an even more gorgeous four or five stepped staircase up to it. Other than that I know nothing of its history, name or anything, there are no plaques awarding it honours for bavery or for being battered in the face of rough seas.

The rough seas have definately taken their toll as the sandstone is crumbling, leaving this delicious texture behind. Nothing living in the holes, just texture and a sense of frailty.

I'm always fascinated by why my eye draws me to certain subjects in a day, and by how I know this is the shot I want rather than another. This may not be the most appealing shot I took today, but it is the one which is most appropriate and to which I am constantly drawn.

Although, I would like to point out, that today I saw the world's largest crane being docked at Rosyth shipyard ready to help in the building of two new ships. It was utterly mesmorising, I've never seen a crane that big. Where was my camera? In the boot as I drove into the Kingdom of Fife. Sadly I wasn't able to stop, my mother just doesn't understand why you would want to anyway! The sun was shining in the Kingdom today, which is more than could be said for Queensferry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.