Appreciation

By Appreciation

Lick the Spoon

I have very little free time at the moment. I have many things which need my attention. Things which require my full attention, and on which I should be focussing. But I can't, not properly. Someone mentioned recently that they were trying to break that lack of sleep, need for a sugar rush, excess energy cycle that you can sometimes get into, and now, I can't stop thinking about it. My mind is fixed on it. Fixated perhaps you may say.

My boys are away at Newcastle watching the football. The girls were having time alone. The minute my girl raised her head I drooled Cake! at her. She could tell by the look on my face that there was only one reasonable answer. Well I had been up for several hours before her and had worked myself into such a frenzy, that to decline would have seemed impolite.

So a nutritious breakfast of scone and jam for me, damn forgot to order the cream, and beans on toast, followed by scone and jam for her. Cunning, store the carbs and protein and it may hide the sugar. I taught her well.

It's a quirky little teahouse. All the china is old and every piece different. The cups don't match the saucer or the cake plate. Each teapot is filled with leaf tea and comes with its own hand knitted teacosy, mostly in the style of animals or cakes. Today we had a cupcake and a bird nest with 3 birds. I was very envious of the white owl a few tables down. I wanted to shoot it (not literally - photographically you understand) but the man at the table was keeping a keen eye on me and he was large. I was sure his legs could reach me should I attempt a shot.

My girl started to play with the remaining jam. It coated the spoon magnificently, its gloss so tempting. Go on, go on, go on, - you know you want to -Just Lick the Spoon.

You'll be glad to know I resisted this time. But No sugar? I don't think I could, well not without an enormouse struggle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.