Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Downing Street

I was more organized today and got out of the house in good time to have a pleasant and leisurely stroll around Riverside.

I did finally get the scanner to talk to the computer, albeit my wife's laptop running Windows XP. I shouldn't have bothered. The couple of trial scans of B&W prints were absolutely dreadful. The image was hard to discern as it appeared to be made of thin wavy strips. I have a feeling that there was a good reason why the scanner had been left at the roadside -- it's buggered, as we British would say.

So I guess it is back to the lottery win in order to scan in all my film prints from yesteryear. That being the case, I think I will ask to have them buried with me. :-)

I had three or four shots in contention for today's blip. One was artistic and would have earned praise from Moments, at least I hope it would, another was taken in a humorous vein but, in the end, I opted for this shot of Downing Street.

It may be ordinary, some may say mundane or trite, well that's me in a nutshell. :-) It was the white blossom that first caught my eye, but the thing that struck me most about this photo is the quality of the light. The other shots can be repeated another day, I doubt whether I would be lucky enough to capture this light again.

In some ways, I still wish we lived on Downing Street. As an Englishman, I loved the address. But the house we had rented was not quite big enough for all my junk and, although we had the option to buy, the owner was talking 2004 prices rather than those of 2008. The real deal breaker, however, was the lack of space.

Have a good weekend, y'all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.