Day Of The Diva

By Katherineellis

My reflection

I sang at Onyx in Vauxhall at 2.30am, great fun as ever and lovely to see everyone again!
Yesterday I was singing the praises of Mac cosmetics, eh voila, I put this face on at 11pm and didn't touch it and here I am at 5 in the morning having done a show and been kissed a lot (on the cheek;-), it just cannot be beaten, nothing worse than a lipstick that doesn't stick!
When I get back from a gig it always takes me a while to unwind before i can sleep but being at home and not in a Hotel I have to be quiet, so I amused myself by taking pix of my face! Anyone else do that?? I slept from 5.30-9.30 and 11.30-2.30, now it's my turn to look after the kids while Max works!
Tonight we are going to a Birthday party, my lovely friend and personal manager Stewie with whom I couldn't be without!

POSTSCRIPT!!!!
I have had sooo many comments about my make up that I have written some instructions for you!!

HOW I DID THIS FACE
I use liquid foundation and apply with a brush and powder on top to fix it, eyeshadow is more complicated, i tend to do the same eyes as i know it works and colours are hit and miss and take longer as well. I use a pearlised cream base applied with finger over the whole eye then a black cream over the lid and socket with finger then a black powder with a brush to blend in the socket so it fades towards the brow, I also use the black powder under my eyes, then a pale shadow above that for continuity and shading then I have an amazing powder called antique gold you can only buy from a mac pro shop and I lightly dust that over the whole area and then a black liquid liner above the lash and lastly mascara!!!!!! Several coats! And then eyebrow pencil.
I sometimes use a kohl as well for totally smoky eyes and the best one is called smoulder by Mac (of course;-). Bailey Tzuke (Judy's daughter) told me about it, it's really dark and stays on for ages!
Then apply foundation with a brush, squirt a bit onto the back of your hand and brush it evenly onto the brush first then roughly daub over the whole face and then brush in, much better than hands as its lighter and smoother and only use fingers around the hair line and eyes etc then apply powder with a puff and then the blusher, I use powder ones with a brush, after putting it on the brush I blow some off it, too much blusher can easily ruin the whole face! Apply to centre of cheeks for a healthy look and/or cheekbones for glamour and to slim the face, lastly the lips! Always use a lip liner, I do the bow first, then the rest of the top lip and then the bottom one, a cream or pencil but pencil will give more definition, and then the lipstick, blot and reapply, use a pencil of the same or darker colour, you can put gloss on top but not too much and not over the whole lip or it will smudge later, and sometimes I then apply some sparkly powder! I have a great red one, I saw some dancers in Russia wearing it, it looked like xmas decorations, I couldn't find it in London and eventually got some in Amsterdam, my drag queen friend Mayday knew exactly what I meant and took me to the Mac store there and I finally got some!!! It's stunning! The key to make up really is good products and that includes the brushes! You might have to spend £200 or more to get a really good kit but it will last for years!!!! Then perfume and clothes ;-)
This takes about 30 minutes , it used to take 45/60 but now I can do it in 20 if I have to!
Hope that helps!
x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.