Booky Goatherd

By Booky_Goatherd

World Book Night

So, Valentine's Day leaves me cold, but I can't let World Book Night pass without a book-related blip.

You can probably tell by this small sample that my reading taste is not particularly modern. I've tried, but I just can't seem to get on with most modern books.....it's a handicap, believe me!

If I were stuck on a desert island, my list of top 8 books to take, in no particular order, would be:

1. A Suitable Boy, Vikram Seth
2. Keep The Aspidistra Flying, George Orwell
3. The Diary of A Nobody, George and Weedon Grossmith
4. If This Is A Man, Primo Levi
5. Saturday Night and Sunday Morning, Alan Sillitoe
6. The Adventures of Augie March, Saul Bellow
7. 84 Charing Cross Road, Helene Hanff
8. The Forsyte Saga, John Galsworthy

I'd better post this quick as I can feel that I am about to change my mind......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.