While on my runs

By waipushrink

An almost grand design

New course on my run this morning. With the drizzly weather I found few views from the top of another of Auckland's volcanic cones, Mt Albert (known originally as Owairaka). None grabbed my attention as blippable.

On the way, however, I passed a couple of blocks of Council flats, being refurbished. I have just seen Kevin McCloud on Grand Designs presenting a renovation of an old barn and a mediaeval Guild Hall. The only similarity between that and these is that all exterior cladding was removed, and non load bearing internal walls taken out, leaving nothing but the exterior framework.

It looks as though these very drab, run down and uncared for 1950s or 60s buildings are going to end up much more pleasant. The steel framework extending out from the walls looks like it will support decks, of considerable size, which will face northwest, getting amazing sun.

Just hope it is to continue as council housing

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.