Squiffy by the Sea

By squiffy

Birdwatchers

Marazion beach is one of my favourite spots to go if I need inspiration for a photo as there is St Michaels Mount and water sports one side of the road and an RSPB sanctuary the other.

Today along with the usual Bunnies, Coots and Crows there were a few swans which refused to pose for me and 4 Herons a bit too far away to photograph. One of them kindly flew over my way to collect some nest material though and posed briefly.

I find it funny that all the birdwatchers automatically assume that if you are at a sanctuary with a big camera that you are also "one of them". They always start with "Is there anything out there today" and then usually tell you a long story about something they saw last week. I never have the heart to tell them that I have no idea what half the birds are and don't really need to know that there was a lesser spotted DooWhap in the estuary on Tuesday. I just smile, say "Oh !" politely and laugh a little inside.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.