just allan

By allan

Happy Unbirthday to Me!

My new bike and me, Belhaven Bay. Happy Unbirthday to Me, here's a new bike and a 100-ish blip ;)

This is not my 100th blip. That was on Friday. However, thanks to a miscalculation and not checking my homework I thought it was today so I had planned roughly this shot for today. So, on Friday when I posted a seagull nicking Katie's lunch I got a bit of a surprise when "congatulations" ensued. Thanks everybody, and here's the picture I meant you to see! A self-portrait as well I suppose, and I thought I'd never do one of those. (Ooh, that rhymed. I'm a poet and I'm not aware of the fact.)

After yesterday's Uprising Acoustic gig I had 900 photos to sort out. It was a cracking gig and I'm quite pleased with the photos. It took most of the morning to edit and publish the 50 or so I chose and I only left myself a few hours to build the bike.

I had bought the frame from ebay last weekend, literally placing the winning bid in the last second. The seller wasn't sure it's an Orange P7 - a sought after old frame - and so it didn't attract much attention. But I'm pretty sure it is a P7 - it has down-tube Crud Catcher bosses and the seat-stays are the Orange design, so it's either genuine or a good rip-off. I'm happy either way for 30 squids!

Here's a picture of the bike. It's a quick build with bits swapped from various bikes - the 456, a ladies bike I built for MFW a while ago she never used, and I had to steal Duncan's seatpost because it's a 26.8mm, narrower than normal by 0.4mm and the same as his DMR. So, more to do but good fun for now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.