Rodents rule

By squirk

Blackcap

Wandering through to the kitchen this morning, I saw a flurry of movement in the trees. I counted two robins and a male and female blackbird; both sets are strangers to the garden although a robin does visit from time to time. Then I spotted a bird with a black smudge on his head. I ran to get my camera (which also works as binoculars due to the zoom) and snapped a few shots. Then, despite the obvious black cap, I checked on the RSPB website for confirmation. Yes, one blackcap. I've never before seen one of these in my garden so it was an exciting moment. He hung around for a bit, bobbing through the vegetation. The robins attacked the recently-freed-from-the-ivy fat-ball holder and the blackbirds eyed up the grass seed that I planted on Friday. I don't have the heart to scare them away since it's so nice to see them in the garden when they usually ignore it.

It's been a day of sorting, painting and getting round to jobs that I've neglected. Perhaps the energy of spring has hit me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.