Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

Into the blue....

A rather different sort of photograph from me today...but one I couldn't resist. After a couple of hours more sorting I was in need of fresh air, so I decided to take the dogs for a riverside walk at Castor. Although the day started grey a little sun was trying to break through as I set off, although the temperature was still low thanks to a easterly breeze.

As I was walking I saw a plane coming up from nearby Sibson airfield, but didn't really think much about it. A few minutes later I heard an unusual fluttering noise, and looked up to see a number of parachutists right above me. The noise had been caused by the expansion of their parachutes. I had my telephoto lens on the camera so took a few shots - but there was only a very brief window of opportunity when they were close enough and in the sunshine. Fortunately they drifted in the breeze and didn't land on me!

I really wasn't sure which photograph to post tonight, but all the men in the family chose this one. I like the fact that the parachute complements the glorious blue sky so well and that you can see all the individual parachute cords. It wasn't until I got home that I realised that this is a tandem jump - if you view it in large you can clearly see four arms and four legs!

Other photos taken on my walk and perhaps more characteristic of my usual style can be seen on my Flickr account. I think my favourite is perhaps a portrait of female pussy willow.which can be seen here. The female flowers are so often overlooked while the male flowers are universally admired. I think they have a quiet beauty of their own.

Overall it's been a good day. As well as the sorting, we managed to have a good clear out and bonfire in the garden. Alex continues to recover very - he seemed so poorly on Friday and is now almost his usual self, up and around and with a good appetite. I don't think I ever recovered from tonsillitis so quickly!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.