The Beat(en) Generation - The The

I did say some of the links would be tenuous, bear with me though because, while I'm sure there will be people out there who will take satisfaction from seeing one of these places in disrepair I have a feeling we'll be needing a lot more of them before this government is out.

Call me a cynic, but coupling massive cuts to the public sector, meaning less jobs and less money to pump back into the economy, with huge cuts to adult eduction funding can only end up resulting in bigger dole queues as far as I can see.

I know the idea is that the slack will be picked up by either the voluntary sector or private industry, but the voluntary sector will nit generate personal income for people to put back into the economy and as for the private sector the onus will be on it to deliver similar services for cheaper while at the same time turning over profits for shareholders. Surely this can only result in either poorer quality service or fewer employees on lower incomes.

I'm not naive enough to think this is entirely a partisan issue either, I know there would have been tough times ahead regardless of who won the last general election.

Anyway, sorry for the depressing tone to Sundays blip, and I appreciate my viewpoint is slightly biased, but if you live in Scotland please sign and share this petition so there are still a wealth of education options for school leavers and people made redundant.

Here's today's song.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.