The gift - The Velvet Underground

Well, the world book day stuff went well. Not only did I give out all forty eight books in about twenty minutes but I also got two days blips out of it too.

I had a little difficulty giving them away at first. The first couple of people walking up middle meadow walk just gave me odd glances. After that I got three people asking me if it was something to do with scientology. When I said no they expressed more interest. After that I announced nothing to do with religion or politics to most people walking past and got a lot more interest. Well, until my last book, apparently if you have a pile of books in your hands and you're offering free books people will accept that it's a genuine offer, but if you only have one book they'll just look at you like you're a weirdo then quickly look away.

This lady came up and asked me what the books were after I'd given away about ten. She was getting leads for a well known charity further down middle meadow walk and had seen people coming down the walk with the books. As she'd approached me I thought it wouldn't be too off putting to ask for a blip. I did ask if she wanted me to promote her charity but she wasn't sure if she was allowed to do that.

Anyway, it gave me a good option for today's song enjoy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.