Alzheimers Caregiver

By CarolWright

Old ceramic Piece, photo of Angel king for photo p

A friend had a community photo project. I should take photo of a meaningful object and show it to another friend. This person would write 1-4 sentences of what they thought the item meant to me.

Sandy Anderson, a writer friend from when we both lived on Orcas Island, wrote that she thought I found this figurine at a flea market. That it's craftiness and homely charm kept pulling me back to buy it. I bought it and shared it with my mother.

My mother is involved actually, but she made the piece when I was 5.5 years old, and she let me paint some of it. I remember trying to replicate the Greek blocky pattern of one of her other Angel Kings, with not such good results. But I do remember doing it. You can tell that most of the decoration is precise, and her other pieces are lovely, with a SW feel...red clay, turquoise and white paint.

My first fall caregiving for Mom, we took clay classes (85 years ago). That is when I decided WE hahaha would recreate these Angel Kings and give them as presents to my sisters and my nieces for Christmas. Oh, Boy, the project took weeks, several trips to have the pieces fired, then packing, etc. I took photos of the process and made Christmas cards using the photos, complete with custom mailing label. Mom helped slosh on some paint, I think.

The relatives appreciated the gesture. Right, gesture. Never again... ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.