Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Angostura Bitters

Margit's Scotch Bonnet from yesterday taught me something about my birthplace, Trinidad. It then struck me that my beloved Angostura bitters bottle has come to an end. I think I bought it around 2003 on my last trip to the UK. Have probably used it more in cooking than drinking but still like the occasional G&T with a dash of Angostura. In my youth, I even toured the Angostura factory.

I can live without Gordon's & have got used to Schweppes from plastic bottles but have never seen a rival for Angostura nor for that matter the real thing here in Germany. I guess I will have to wait until my next visit to Munich, or probably better, order it over the internet. Will no doubt cost a fortune but at least the own brand gin here is a lot cheaper than in the UK.

From the blip, it looks like there are gin bottles lying all over the place; we collect bottles for a friend who distils various fruits each summer/autumn - honest! A pint of shandy at lunchtime and I am finished for the day.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.