Pferdeschorschi

By schorschi

Olching Carnival Procession 2011

One of the biggest carnival processions in Upper Bavaria on Shrove Tuesday takes place in Olching near Munich, my wife's birthplace. With around 30,000 spectators it's a fun time for an hour or two.

The attached photo is of a family, who I hope would have given me permission to publish if I had been able to cross the road to ask them. They summed up the day - fun & sun. One of the most popular floats was decorated with union jacks &  depicted the up & coming Kate & William marriage.

For me & my wife, it was an opportunity to deliver eggs to Mum, Dad, Sister and catch up on family news. As always a superb "snack" at Dad's afterwards. Spicy Hungarian sausages from his childhood days. He was a Donau-Schwaben, but that's another story for another day.

Will try to Flickr some photos/videos of the day but not today - am suffering from the sausage overdose.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.