Journey Through Time

By Sue

Under The Bench

Standing underneath our outdoor bench, this robin is probably listening for worms. Our neighborhood is about 13 years old. There was an original home and they had all this property that was just trees and shrubs and what not. Perfect for birds and small critters. They sold the land and trees came down, land was cleared and houses went up. The robins have been coming here to nest for a very long time, and they don't quite know where all their trees went Each spring, tons of robins show up and they are on every tree top, claiming their territory. They swoop from tree to tree. They look for goodies in the ground to eat. They enjoy our spa facilities we have set up for birds and love the bird baths. The other day there were 3 in the bird bath, one on the ground and two in the trees...that I could see. I am sure there were many more, out of my line of vision. Robins have nested in our hanging baskets. One robin last year was intent on fighting with the bird in the window and he just about drove us nuts pecking at his reflection in a few windows and the sliding door. We'd never seen that before with the robins, although I read that it is a common behavior. I hope that robin will not be back this year.

I guess I will enter this into the "underneath" challenge, because I doubt I will come up with anything better. Fairly nice day today, but the rains return tonight and it will be a nasty few days, I guess.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.