A time for everything

By turnx3

Happy Birthday Laura!

Wednesday
My "baby" turned 21 today - how did that happen?! I wasn't too happy with how the cake turned out. I made the cake last night, and it rose beautifully, but then sank in the middle as it cooled. Then, when I tried taking out of the pan, the center stuck to the pan! Then this morning I discovered I was a bit short of confectioners sugar, but I didnt have time to go and buy any more, so I made do, but it was a bit thin on top, and then I didnt get the base coat very smooth - catalogue of woes! I left late morning to drive up to Oxford, to take Laura the cake and her present - a new camera - and take her out for lunch. It was a lovely sunny day, so it was a nice drive, and we had a very pleasant lunch. They've got a bit of excitement on campus at the moment as George Clooney and Ryan Gosling are in town for a couple of days shooting some scenes for their film "Ides of March"!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.