Big Hill

By bighill

Women connecting to....

their history!

It's the 100th anniversary of International Woman's Day, all over the world men and women are celebrating and remembering! There is a lot to be thankful for, we have achieved much over the past century....are we there yet....not by a long stretch!

But I want to celebrate the women in my life....this is an image of me, taken by a wonderful photographer friend, about 20 years ago. I'm holding a photograph of my mother, who was the same age as i am in the image....holding my 5 year old hand!!! My twin daughters are about 4 years old in the added image!

IWD has a very strong place in my own history. Even altho i was a feminist before i even knew the word existed, learning about the struggles of women all over the world whilst taking a women's study course at the University of Toronto (1978sh), was an amazing eye opening experience. I starting taking part in all sorts of rallies, and each year the IWD march in downtown Toronto was a highlight! What a sense of power and freedom it was...to be walking with some 2-3,000 (maybe even more!) others, singing, dancing....celebrating...what a high!

one of the most stirring moments was when we sang the song Bread and Roses.....i've been searching around You tube....and this is a wonderful recreation of this powerful song....Bread and Roses...

So, altho there is still much to be done for women to be seen as equal in this world, i celebrate what the early suffragettes have given me and in turn my own daughters. they are stronger and more autonomous than I was at their age (22 years old) and they have a sense of their place in this world....

And to help celebrate here's one of my favorite's.....

Woman's Day - Peter Gabriel

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.