Captain's Logbook

By CaptainSensible

Conservation

I am convinced that there is beauty in function.

OK so this a a valve, so what I hear you say. Well, for those who don't know, I converted our loft to give an extra bedroom, a shower and a teenagers "crash room" for jamming and other hip/cool stuff that teenagers do.

I plumbed the shower to empty into a water butt - for the garden in the arid summer months. The plan has gone slightly awry because it's been chucking it down with rain for the last two summers. Also because the water butt tends to get a bit mouldy and clogged if it isn't drained down.

The solution I have chosen is to have a method of diverting the waste water into the butt only when it's needed - for which I need a valve, which has to be rugged enough for outdoors and have a similar bore to the standard UK waste pipe.

Hence my excitement over a brand new shiny valve.

The other thing is, when I photographed it, there was no reflection. That is all my own work and I am childishly pleased with it. I suppose I am even more pleased about having learn't something new than I am about the final image.

Oh and this image had to be back-blipped because, although I took the picture on time, I couldn't process it in time because I didn't know how to last night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.