Mediterranean Wanderer

By monkeyhanger

Elated, happy, feckin bouncin off the ceiling!

My mum went through a five and a half hour operation where they removed a 7cm mass and took a good chunk of her. She is sitting up and screwing her face up when she laughs because her tummy hurts........I can't take the smile off my face and it's nothing to do with the half bottle of port that I have very quickly absorbed. The fear is gone from her face and I am so happy.

She moves from the high dependency unit to the general ward tomorrow and I can't wait to take her a bunch of flowers in. The High Dependency Unit has no windows and is very purposeful...not a place for flowers. This will be made up for tomorrow with a wall of colour and get well cards.

The surgeon said that we will know what the mass was in 10 days but with what he saw, he would not be surprised if it turned out to be benign. This was not the final word but was so feckin fantastic to hear all the same.

This pic was sneaked without flash, hence the blur, but I just needed something with todays date on so that I could thank you all for your messages of support. I have applied for a couple of posts in Edinburgh that will cover me long enough to look after my mum.

Thanks so much.

K

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.