Mediterranean Wanderer

By monkeyhanger

Down but not rock bottom.

On reflection, I am glad that today was a busy one. Alarm at 8am, straight to the boat yard at Vatasa where I was challenged by security and had to persuade them that I did own my own boat before they would let me in.

We packed away anything that was not bolted down on the deck into lockers and tidied below before taking some last minute photos. I put on the boom cover after wrapping all the sheets around the boom and covered the instruments with a goretex sheet I had spare. We noted that the shaft bearing was a little worn, so I have a growing list of jobs to carry out when we come back.

The reason I am glad to have been busy for the bulk of the day, was that on the walk back to the marina to do our final packing before the flight home, I happened to glance out to sea and saw a fellow yachtsman making North towards Alicante on the course we would have been taking. Made my heart sink for a moment. There was just enough wind for him to have been making something like 3 knots and the water was beautiful.

Lets hope it's not too long before Madison is on course and closing the gap between Spain and Greece.

Next blip will be from sunny Scotland.

See ya.

(Note to self: chin up you arse, you are a lot better off than most people on the planet!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.