My Angle

By myangle

Swimming

Normally I don't need an excuse to go swimming in Ken's dams. This morning before heading back to Brisbane Brad and I went over to Kens other property to help him castrate a calf and draft some cattle off in the yards. Mostly Brad and I just watched because Ken is so capable on his own. The calf ended up having to be sedated because is was a bit to strong for the three of us. I would be too if I suspected my knackers were about to be cut off.

After the cows we went down to the dam to retrieve the hose for the pump which had sunk. The dam is quite deep, about 15 foot. A month or so ago it was nearly empty but thanks to recent heavy rains it is running over the spillway. I ended up in the water for more than half an hour trying to free up the hose which was anchored out in the middle. Eventually I gave up and untied the anchore rope. Ken suggested that I dive down and try to free up the anchor. I wasn't game.

This dam is screaming out to be stocked with fish. Ken has given me permission to do just that. In a few years time it will be perfect for a spot of fishing.

So today passed quite pleasantly. When we got home there was 100mm in the rain gauge which is by far the biggest dumping of rain we have had for a few years. There is supposed to be more tonight. The lawn will probably grow a few inches overnight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.