the lightness of my life

By lightness

yes, I do feel something..

Today was a slow slow day at work, much to my liking. Sometimes I am amazed by how easy my jobs have been in recent years. And each one pays more and more. In retrospect, getting educated was time well spent, an investment that has definitely paid for itself a couple times over. It also seems to me, on the personal observational level, the more one gets paid, the less real work they have to do. Maybe that is flawed as I don't work around doctors or lawyers.
Today the crisis is over I feel. I received some nice advice and comments from the last entry. Looking forward is the way in life. Sentimentalism would have us reincarnate the past...but for what end? Our poor perception of time leaves us always grasping at the moments and years that have slipped by. We grow old too fast. This life-span... I wish I had several of them. Something tells me that if humans could just live a few hundred years longer, a lot of the urgency and haste would be mellowed out.
I'm looking forward to being old, if I can make it there. I mean, sitting around all day playing checkers, telling younger people that don't care of your glory days, and most of all - the right to speak your mind without fear of repercussions. If there is one thing we will excuse in old age, it has to be all the blunt-edged, straight talk. Like when my sister, at age 16 asked my mom, "do I look fat?", my mom of course replies, "No dear. You look great. The main thing is you feel good and healthy and that is all that's important". Upon seeing her, my grandma was more inclined to spell it out to her - "My goodness, you've really gotten overweight. You should lose some pounds there! How do you expect to find a husband someday at that rate?"
digression has caused me to forget what I even wanted to say this entry.
Other than to say, I feel much better and safer than before, I think I will leave it at that tonight.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.