Who knew?

By InOtherNews

The Stonebow

This is an archway in the centre of town that stands in the same place as the south gate of the Roman city 'Lindum', now obviously Lincoln.

In its present form, the Stonebow was built in the early 1500s and is a great display of Tudor craftsmanship. The bell in the roof of the building has been dated to the 1371, and is rung only for the traditional occasion of calling Lincoln?s Councillors to their meetings that take place in the ccivic centre above the archway.

It is also where ladies of the night knock about trying to earn heroin money apparently, although I've never stopped. Those skagheads never have the full amount anyway, it's always like 'can I owe you a fiver until tomorrow' blah blah blah. I tell you heroin dealing is no picnic.

It is also where buskers stand and try and get you to part with pennies in exchange for their shit rendition of Danny Boy. Sometimes the 'homeless' mooch around here trying to get me to part with my hard earned. I once gave a girl a fiver there (not linked to the last point) and that night I saw her off her face it Ritzy on pills. The homeless eh? Why eat when Ecstacy takes away your appetite anyway?

It is also where charity workers try and accost you for money. One even has a placard in this shot. I'm not sure what she was selling, relief for polar bears or something. I give to charity because I choose to, not because a scantily clad bit of jailbait flirts with me for ten minutes then tries to make out she gives a rats ass about the elderly / infirm / minority / dying / dead / animals / environment / price of petrol (the list goes on and on and on even longer than my typical entry)

Been a mad day today, internet down and phone calls coming in. Now everything is up and the boss is coming in which means he's going to think I've done sweet FA. At this very stage I literally want to cry. Had no internet on my phone for weeks, guy came in to fix it and just connected to our Wifi and left again: that's not going to work when I drive away is it? I don't work for a phone company but even I know that. Dickhead.

I've been asked to contact a load of customers about a change to one of the training courses that directly affects them. However I've not had the change explained to me, and I'm meant to be doing a mail drop and follow up call explaining it. I had a stab at it and thsomeone I work with said 'I don't understand what you've written, rewrite it'. How the **** do you expect me to rewrite something I had no idea about writing in the first place?

I passed Wits End about fifteen miles ago, and now I'm apparently just a short walk away from The Edge. I've heard it's lovely this time of year.

Stonebow looks nice though doesn't it?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.