Who knew?

By InOtherNews

For Tilson

Today City beat Southend Utd 2-1 at the Bank. Our gaffer, Steve Tilson is a Southend hero - he took them from League 2 through to the Championship and oversaw a 1-0 cup win over Man Utd. He left under a cloud last season and is locked in a legal battle with their chairman over unpaid wages: to say he wanted to win today would be a fair statement. An Ashley Grimes opener was cancelled out by some horrible City defending before our loan hero Grimes netted with 10 minutes to spare. Ex Southend striker Scott Spencer missed an open goal will three minutes left which he'll be gutted about.

However I don't care: we ideally need two more wins between now and May to stay up. That's the bottom line.

The player in the middle is Ashley Grimes. 20 odd games, 16 goals. In the words of me: a f*****g legend.

As some of you know I'm involved with a fans group called the 12th Man as well as being the mascot, and as well as being editor of our fanzine 'The Deranged Ferret'. Well today I have been approached by the Supporters Trust with a view to being coopted onto the board. From the LCST board (Lincoln City Supporters Trust) one supporter is then voted onto the actual club board. To say I'm 'up for that' would also be fair. However LCST and the 12th Man don't always get on, and I suspect that the LCST may want me as a bit of a 'coup'. They get accused of being out of touch with the typical fan, and despite my involvement with various things I'm widely regarded as being in touch with the fans. To be involved on an official board would be brilliant, but if I were to end up on the club board I then that would be my dream come true.

My granddad was a big City fan before he died in 1992 and I feel that I've always wanted to make him rpoud through heavy involvement in the club. However by choosing the LCST I may end up upsetting some good people at the 12th Man.

Sorry, light on laughs again.

One thing I did rant about last night was the DFS adverts. Every time I see them it's always attractive people lounging about on designer sofas in upmarket elaborate housing. I'd like to see some honest advertising, imagine this: There is a DFS sofa looking all designer and expensive. It's crammed into a council house living room, and on it is a 22 stone woman with chip fat hair and a tab end hanging out her mouth. On the leather swivel chair three kids (from four fathers) batter the living shit out of each other screaming loudly. Jeremy Kyle adorns the 42" plasma screen hung on a 1970 wallpaper covered in nicotine stains. The tagline reads: DFS, only those on benefits can truly afford luxury.

I think of this as I shuffle uncomfortably on my handed down three piece suite wondering where my next night out is coming from. Blairs Britain: so much more than just invading countries with oil and ignoring human rights abuses in Zimbabwe because Mugabe doesn't two pennies to choke his own people with. Yup, the Blair years also brought us mass immigration and allowed a culture where right wing facism could breed freely. It handed out borrowed money to the undeserving and expected those who graft to fend for themselves. Most importantly they got so far up Americas arse they saw what Bush had for lunch before he even chewed it.

Oops, got carried away there. I'll never forgive Blair for the mess he caused, just like I'll never forget Graham Howsam for ripping up my Look-In magazine (Dempsey and Makepeace special) in the playground when I was six.

Mind you I did spend a lovely few months in the company of his younger sister many years later so I guess it's swings and roundabouts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.