Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Playing on the beach.

Today the sun beat down gloriously on La Rochelle. With this in mind I decided to stay in all day and achieve nothing, something which is becoming quite a hobby of mine.

Come 6 o'clock, though, and having exhausted the supply of Christopher Hitchens debate videos on Youtube I decided I should go for a walk. First though I had to perk up a bit so I made a coffee with enough sugar to rot the sturdiest set of dentures. I waited patiently for the shakes and then left my room.

On my walk I experienced many things. I got frustrated about how hard it is to walk on sand. I secretly pulled my zipper up three or four times. I rolled my ankle on the curb. I looked directly at the sun on purpose and then got worried when the blotch of white light in my eye wouldn't go away. I changed the song on my ipod a thousand and one times and I cut my walk short because I got bored. Ironic really, since that, ultimately, was what I was trying to escape.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.