Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

I look down on my fellow man.

A bird's eye view of depression or contemplation or tiredness or complete indifference. I don't know. This guy was sat near one of La Rochelle's beaches on a bench situated under the sea wall. I've taken similar photographs before but haven't put them on blip. It's a great area for voyeuristic photography when the sun is out and the beach is busy. You can simply walk a long and peer over the edge of the wall like a total creep and photograph people who are completely unaware of your presence. That's providing they can't feel your hot breath on the back of their necks - you are literally only a foot above them.

Despite feeling like a sneaky ninja, I always have a niggling fear that they will suddenly look round to see me, in all my lankiness, peering right at them. What would you do in that situation? Probably make a hasty retreat and hide behind the ice cream hut. But it would be almost tempting just to hold your position or get even closer. To physically touch their nose with yours and smile. Try to convince them that they're the weird ones for thinking what you're doing is weird in the first place. Or you could just say, accusingly, 'what are YOU looking at?'. Totally reverse the situation and make them start to question their own behaviour for sitting on the bench in the first place.

The things I'll do for photography. God, I hope you don't think I'm weird.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.