Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

A story to tell!

The Lib Dem Conference takes place in Sheffield over the weekend and 2 million pounds worth of policing is in place to cover all eventualities. In the current economic climate I wonder if this money wouldn't have been better spent if it had gone to support council services for the young and ill and those generally in need. As I stood there with my camera lots of people stopped to talk. Including this man who was very concerned about the health of his wife and what the cuts would mean to her.

We held our first Sheffield Blipmeet today and I eventually found Sparky and Rakanewho had a different fountain in mind, i.e. the one of the Winter Gardens where I rarely go. As I knew the eventual aim was to lunch at the Blue Moon I finally met up with them at the Cathedral where they were looking out for me (or at least someone with a camera). We thought we might make meeting up a regular event so eventually others might meet us too.

As for the rest of the day! I was in work in the afternoon to experience someone else showing us how the `online CPD' sessions might work by demoing a session on the 2012 Olympics. Then out to a local village do at the Methodist Chapel. A kind of `guess what the antiques were used for' and a pea and pie supper. Well the pie and peas were great, but trying to work out what a hundred different and really obscure objects were used for was a bit too much and I confess to giving up after I identified the `necklace for goths'.

While all this frivolity has been happening in Sheffield the people of Japan have suffered such an appalling event that I fear will truly drarf the happenings in Christchurch. My thoughts are with them tonight.

More photos from Sheffield >>>

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.