Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Howl over Wharfedale

Today we've all been a bit subdued after waking to the news from Japan. Events like that put life in perpective. In some ways it's helped that I've spent the day outside, unplugged and unwired. Time to reflect, but not to get jaded by the reel of media images.

I had a day off work, and tried to use the time to unwind and head for the moors. I've been working on a few transects of Rombalds Moor (the larger moor that includes Baildon, Ilkley, Bingley, Burley, Skipton, Hawksworth, Morton Moors and so on.) Today I walked down to Saltaire station, took the train to Silsden & Steeton, and then walked up from the River Aire at Silsden Bridge, up under Rivock Edge to the Doubler Stones, then onto Addingham High Moor, finishing with the fine escarpment walk along the edge of Wharfedale toward Ilkley, from where I took the train home.

I saw my first Lapwing and Curlew of the year - plenty of both, including a flock of about forty Curlew near Black Pots. I also disturbed a Roe Deer in Dirk Hill Sike, it must have been braving a trip down onto the moor from the large plantation that sits on the brow of the hill.

This sculpture was a highlight of the walk for me though. I knew nothing about it in advance, and it just emerged suddenly, a striking shape on the skyline. Having had a quick look since I've come home, it seems it is still a mystery as to how it came to be there. People have been creating art on these moors for millenia, I saw plenty of examples of magalithic rock art on the route today, and to me this continues that fine tradition.

mysterious beast ~ howling ~ on the moors ~ voice carried ~ by the wind

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.