Students for a Free Tibet

Part of university life in a free society is the right to peaceful protect. Today is the day Tibetan students and those in support of a free Tibet make their cause known. This banner is in Vari Hall - the rotunda central to campus traffic and activities (and protests). Their cause is just but, unfortunately, insurmountable for the foreseeable future. Keep up the awareness campaign and keep pressing for justice.

Unfortunately, their message will be lost amid the reportage of the massive earthquake and tsunami devastation in Japan - which happened in the early morning hours (North American time) today. My heart and my sympathies go out to those in Japan and those with family, friends, and colleagues there.

On the Tibetan theme, I spent 10 days with the Dalai Lama in Toronto at Kalachakra 2004. I volunteered. Because I was a large, imposing figure, I got front-line duty at the VIP section right by the stage. Yes, Richard Gere was there and we chatted briefly. My wife was sooooo jealous. I learned a lot, met lots of wonderful and warm people, tried some yummy Tibetan food, and got some nice souvenirs. Another Tibetan blip.

Yesterday's blip: Campus hotspot

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.